More
close ad

The Mod Squad: Fall Classics with a Modern Twist

Autumn's hottest trends have never looked better with our top picks.

By Amanda Flores

  • Share
  • Print
  • view all thumbnails
Amazing Grays Fall Fashion
Jim Wright
Jim Wright
Jim Wright
Jim Wright
Jim Wright
Jim Wright
7 of 7
7 of 7
1 of 7
Amazing Grays

An oversize cape meets its match with scene-stealing metallic denim. A floppy hat tops everything off.

Cape, Talbots, Talbots stores and talbots.com, $199. Turtleneck, Simply Vera Vera Wang, Kohl's stores and kohls.com, $60. Jeans, Zara, zara.com for locations, $80. Hat, Old Navy, oldnavy.com, $20. Bangle, Ted Rossi, tedrossi.com, $98.

1 of 7
2 of 7
Most Wanted

Your go-to black pants and a three-quarter-sleeve sweater have never been so of-the-moment. Faux fur and dot-on-dot prints lend retro style to any wardrobe.

(Left) Sweater, White House Black Market, White House Black Market stores and whbm.com, $84. Top, Cece Toppings, cecetoppings.com, $39. Skirt, Loft, Loft stores and loft.com, $59.50. Hat, Target, Target stores and target.com, $17. Belt, Forever 21, forever21.com, $2.50. Bangle, R.J. Graziano, 212-685-1248, $75. Tights, Spanx, spanx.com, $28. (Right) Top, Jennifer Lopez, Kohl's stores and kohls.com, $80. Faux fur stole, Kenneth Cole New York, Kenneth Cole New York stores, $128. Pants, Simply Vera Vera Wang, Kohl's stores and kohls.com, $48. Hat, Target, Target stores and target.com, $15. Gloves, Ciré, grandoe.com, $100. Clutch, Forever 21, forever21.com, $17.

2 of 7
3 of 7
Let It Ride

This sleek motorcycle jacket is surprisingly feminine, especially when paired with slim-fit python-print pants.

Jacket and pants, Zara, zara.com for locations, $250 and $80. Top, H&M, hm.com for locations, $18. Cuffs, Ted Rossi, tedrossi.com, $85 each.

3 of 7
4 of 7
Lady and the Vamp

Tough-but-sweet leather and lace accents make a pencil skirt new. Create the illusion of an empire waist with a wide belt placed up high—the combo elongates and slims.

Top, H&M, hm.com for locations, $25. Skirt, BCBG Max Azria, BCBG stores, $178. Belt, Jessica Simpson Collection, jessicasimpsoncollection.com, $48. Clutch, Forever 21, forever21.com, $15. Gloves, Carolina Amato, carolinaamato.com, $60. Booties, Avon, avon.com, $45.

4 of 7
5 of 7
Frankly Scarlet

A classic sheath dress and high-waisted jeans become instant showstoppers in the season's hottest hue. Talk about well-red.

(Left) Vest, BCBG Max Azria, BCBG stores, $178. Top, Simply Vera Vera Wang, Kohl's stores and kohls.com, $34. Jeans, American Apparel, americanapparel.net, $78. (Right) Dress, Talbots, Talbots stores and talbots.com, $199. Necklace, Mango, mango.com, $40. Clutch, Marimekko, us.marimekko.com, $135. Bangles (top to bottom): Ted Rossi, tedrossi.com, $65; R.J. Graziano, 212-685-1248, $65; Mango, mango.com, $25. Ben-Amun, ben-amun.com, $95.

5 of 7
6 of 7
Walk This Way

A belted trench dress—worn as a tunic—partners with wide-leg pants and platform heels to keep you one step ahead.

Trench and pants, Ann Taylor, anntaylor.com, $228 and $118. Hoops, R.J. Graziano, 212-685-1248, $30. Necklace, Vince Camuto, Lord & Taylor stores, $75. Cuff and clutch, Ann Taylor, anntaylor.com, $68 and $138.

Originally published in the October 17, 2011, issue of Family Circle magazine.

This piece was accurate at publication time, but all prices, offerings and styles are subject to change.

6 of 7