More
close ad

Winter Fashion: Looks That Shimmer

Ring in the season with these glittering styles.

By Linda Moran Evans & Dori Katz

  • view all thumbnails
tiger top
Fiorenzo Borghi
Fiorenzo Borghi
Fiorenzo Borghi
Fiorenzo Borghi
Fiorenzo Borghi
Fiorenzo Borghi
7 of 7
7 of 7
1 of 7
Date Night

For a well-deserved night out, go a little wild. A tiger top looks fierce under a tux jacket. Gold jeans and studded booties take this outfit to the next level.

Top, $80; blazer, $90; clutch, $90; booties, $160; all available at Zara, zara.com. Pants, W118 by Walter Baker, walterbaker.com, $138. Earrings, BCBGeneration, bcbgeneration.com, $24. Ring, Just Fabulous, justfab.com, $40.

1 of 7
2 of 7
Office

A black velvet skirt and a ruffled top work together beautifully 9 to 5 and after. Don a cardi during the day, then slide on stilettos for evening glam.

Top, Robert Rodriguez for Target + Neiman Marcus, Target stores, Neiman Marcus stores, target.com and neimanmarcus.com, $80. Skirt, Ann Taylor, anntaylor.com, $88. Earrings, ABS by Allen Schwartz, Lord & Taylor stores, $45. Bracelets, R.J. Graziano, 212-685-3737 to purchase; right arm, top to bottom, $95, $135; left arm, left to right, $75, $75, $55. Watch, Timex, timex.com, $45. Clutch, Bebe, bebe.com, $69. Ring, Just Fabulous, justfab.com, $40. Tights, Hanes, haneshosiery.com, $10.

2 of 7
3 of 7
Party

Sequin-studded pants and a cozy knit strike the perfect balance between low-key and luxe for a festive night in with family and friends.

Sweater, Garnet Hill, garnethill.com for a similar item, $118. Pants, Loft, Loft stores and loft.com, $98. Faux Fur Neckwarmer, Banana Republic, bananarepublic.com, $70. Earrings, R.J. Graziano, 212-685-3737 to purchase, $35. Ring, Target, Target stores and target.com, $8. Bracelet, Lee Angel, 212-334-6573 to purchase.

3 of 7
4 of 7
New Year's

Sparkle plenty in a sequin A-line dress. Shimmery stockings and heels are the perfect finishing touches for a New Year's Eve to remember.

Dress, Coldwater Creek, Coldwater Creek stores and coldwatercreek.com, $190. Earrings, R.J. Graziano, 212-685-3737 to purchase, $55. Clutch, Zara, zara.com, $50. Tights, Emilio Cavallini, emilliocavallini.com, $28. Heels, Topshop, topshop.com, $170.

4 of 7
5 of 7
Makeup

Red lips are timeless. Use a matte color with blue undertones, which flatters all complexions. A full, volumized 'do, like this short style, complements the classic look. Apply a body-building mousse to damp hair and blow-dry forward, toward your face.

Top, Lauren Ralph Lauren, select Bloomingdale's stores and bloomingdales.com, $149. Earrings, Double Happiness Jewelry, doublehappinessjewelry.com, $55. All makeup by Chanel.

5 of 7
6 of 7
Hair

A high bun is sleek and polished. Start with a ponytail at the crown of your head and slide through a "donut"—try The Wrap-Up by Sarah Potempa, $12. Wrap strands around the base in a circular motion, tuck in ends and secure with bobby pins. Add drama with double-lined eyes. Swipe a thick pencil along the lower and upper lash lines and finish with mascara.

Top, Michael Michael Kors, select Michael Kors stores and michaelkors.com, $195. Earrings, Lee Angel, 212-334-6573 to purchase, $125. The Wrap-Up, Sarah Potempa, sarahpotempa.com, $12. All makeup by Bobbi Brown.

Originally published in the December 2012 issue of Family Circle magazine.

This piece was accurate at publication time, but all prices, offerings and styles are subject to change.

6 of 7