Shirt Tales: Updated New Button-Downs

The top story for spring is the reinvention of that classic wardrobe staple. Designers are giving it fresh new twists with unexpected fabrics, cuts, and details.

1 of 24

The Boho

101673347_w.jpg

Easy does it.

Shirt, French Connection, Hemline, 504-592-0242, $128. Pants, French Connection, Searle, 212-750-5153, $158. Belt, Zara, zara.com for store locations, $70. Bangles, R.J. Graziano, 212-685-1248, $95 and $125.


2 of 24

The Classic

101673349_w.jpg

Straight and narrow.

Shirt, The Limited, The Limited stores and thelimited.com, $45. Jacket, Allen B. by Allen Schwartz for JCPenney, JCPenney stores and jcp.com, $41. Pants, Zara, zara.com for store locations, $40. Heels, Isabel Toledo for Payless, Payless ShoeSource stores and payless.com, $45. Sunglasses, Forever 21, Forever 21 stores and forever21.com, $6.


3 of 24

The Animal Print

101673355_w.jpg

Nine lives.

Shirt ($40), vest ($40), pants ($60), Zara, zara.com for store locations. Necklaces ($125 each) and cuff ($65), R.J. Graziano, 212-685-1248.


4 of 24

The Tuxedo

101673352_w.jpg

Dressed to frill.

Shirt, Vineyard Vines, vineyardvines.com, $148.50. Pants, Loft, Loft stores and loft.com, $79.50. Bag, Dooney & Bourke, dooney.com, $198. Bracelet, R.J. Graziano, 212-685-1248, $35.


5 of 24

The Sleeveless

101673348_w.jpg

The right to bare arms.

Top, Esprit de. corp, Esprit stores and esprit.com, $59.50. Beaded necklaces, Sequin, 212-398-7363, $98. Gold necklace, R.J. Graziano, 212-685-1248, $85.


6 of 24

The Shirtdress

101673356_w-1.jpg

Boy meets girl.

Shirtdress, Thomas Pink, 212-838-1928, $250. Necklace, Sequin, 212-398-7363, $128. Watch, La Mer, lamercollections.com, $90.


7 of 24

The Ruffle

101673356_w-2.jpg

Sporty '40s flair.

Shirt, American Living for JCPenney, americanliving.com, $40. Pants, Ann Taylor, anntaylor.com, $98. Hat, Hat Attack, 800-982-1569 and hatattack.com, $36. Coil bracelet ($38) and pearl stretch bracelet ($42), Carolee, carolee.com.


8 of 24

The Bold Print

101673351_w.jpg

Color your world.

Shirt, Old Navy, oldnavy.com, $24.50. Skirt, Zara, zara.com for store locations, $60. Necklace ($75) and pin ($95), R.J. Graziano, 212-685-1248.


9 of 24

The Western

101673346_w-1.jpg

Ride 'em, cowgirl.

Shirt, Stetson, eliswesternwear.com/western, $60. Skirt, Talbots, Talbots stores and talbots.com, $199. Earrings, Martine Wester, martinewester.com, $128. Belt, Zara, Zara stores and zara.com, $30.


10 of 24

The Camp

101673346_w-2.jpg

Kitsch kitties.

Shirt ($40) and skirt ($40), Zara, zara.com for store locations. Belt, Talbots, Talbots stores and talbots.com, $59. Earrings, Carolee, carolee.com, $28. Watch, La Mer, lamercollections.com, $88.


11 of 24

The Great White

101673353_w.jpg

A clean slate.

Shirt, White House Black Market, White House Black Market stores, $68. Skirt, Ann Taylor, anntaylor.com, $138. Necklace ($148) and bracelet ($78), Sequin, 212-398-7363. Belt, Zara, zara.com for store locations, $20.


12 of 24

The Smock

101673344_w.jpg

Free spirit.

Shirt, Levi's, levi.com, $69.50. Jeans, Zara, zara.com for store locations, $40. Hat, Hat Attack, 800-982-1569 and hatattack.com, $70. Bag, Dooney & Bourke, dooney.com, $165.


13 of 24

The Featherweight Silk

101673354_w.jpg

Light bright.

Shirt, Talbots, Talbots stores, $79.50. Jeans, Olsenboye for JCPenney, JCPenney stores and jcp.com, $30. Hat, Hat Attack, 800-982-1569 and hatattack.com, $36. Earrings ($45) and solid pink bangle ($35), R.J. Graziano, 212-685-1248. Carved bangle ($48) and flower stretch bracelet ($78), Sequin, 212-398-7363.


14 of 24

The Peasant

101673345_w.jpg

Haute hippie.

Shirt, Lucky Brand, luckybrand.com, $99. Coin necklace, Sequin, 212-398-7363, $168. Shark tooth necklace, Alex & Ani, alexandani.com, $178. Bracelet, One of a Kind Jewelry, shoponeofakindjewelry.com, $99.


15 of 24

More Great Shirts: The White Ruffles

101677295.jpg

Esprit Collection, select Esprit stores and esprit.com, $59.50


16 of 24

The Flower Power

101677293.jpg

a.n.a. by JCPenney, JCPenney stores and jcp.com, $20


17 of 24

The Deep Blue

101677291.jpg

Nicole by Nicole Miller for JCPenney, JCPenney stores and jcp.com, $31


18 of 24

The Romantic

101677290.jpg

The Limited, The Limited stores and thelimited.com, $50


19 of 24

The Denim Dream

101677289.jpg

Lands' End Canvas, landsendcanvas.com, $39.50


20 of 24

The Modest Print

101677288.jpg

Lucky Brand, luckybrand.com, $89.50


21 of 24

The Tunic

101677287.jpg

Old Navy, oldnavy.com, $26.50


22 of 24

The Black & White

101677285.jpg

Mushka by Sienna Rose, call Sienna Rose at 213-977-8283 or e-mail customerservice@siennarose.com, $68


23 of 24

The Navy Dress

101677284.jpg

Old Navy, oldnavy.com, $29.50


24 of 24

The White Bow

101677296.jpg

Esprit Collection, select Esprit stores and esprit.com, $49.50

Originally published in the February 2011 issue of Family Circle magazine.

This piece was accurate at publication time, but all prices, offerings, and styles are subject to change.